Lantern Hill Community Relations Committee

Arnold Speert, CRC Chair

Dr. Speert is chair of the Lantern Hill and Cedar Crest Boards and Community Relations Committees.  He is also a member of the Lantern Hill and Seabrook Community Relations Committees.  He serves as a member of the NSC Investment and Treasury, Communications and Governance & Internal Affairs Advisory Committees.  Dr. Speert served as the sixth president of William Paterson University from 1985 until his retirement in July 2010. He has served on the boards of seven nonprofit institutions, two of which he chaired. In addition, he has served on the boards of the State Farm Indemnity Company, The Ramapo Bank, and the Broadway Bank and Trust Company. Dr. Speert also was a founding commissioner of the Passaic County (New Jersey) Improvement Authority. He earned his Ph.D. in chemistry from Princeton University and his areas of expertise include institutional governance, institutional community building, and diversity.

David Marr, Director Living in Community (DLC)

Mr. Marr currently serves as the Director Living in Community (DLC) for Lantern Hill. He was elected to the first RAC to exist at Lantern Hill, previously served as secretary of the Lantern Hill RAC and is a vice president of the Organization of Residents Associations of New Jersey (ORANJ). After twenty-five years of government-related work for various parts of AT&T and Bell Laboratories, Mr. Marr switched to the development of hardware and software for cell phone systems and retired in 2002 as a Director at Bell Labs/Lucent Technologies, responsible for field trials and special projects involving Lucent’s cell phone systems. He later consulted to start-up companies and is now an investor and is leading several family history projects. Mr. Marr received a Bachelor’s degree in Electrical Engineering from The Johns Hopkins University.